Archive for January 20th, 2010

Yoram Bauman, Stand-up Economist: The Principles of Economics, Translated

After attending Reed College, Yoram Bauman got a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Washington. According to his website, he “juggle[s] 6 or 8 part-time jobs, depending on how you count them.” Among other things, he is an environmental economist and a part-time teacher. What really sets him apart, however, is his work as a “stand-up economist.”

Though he can definitely run spreadsheets with the best of them, Bauman’s comedy work started when he wrote a parody of the ten principles of economics illustrated in Mr. Mankiw’s fabulous textbook.  Today (Wednesday, 1/10/2010) in class, we saw a video of this piece being performed. Or at least part of it, in the case of my class. Check it out below or by clicking here.

Send Slideshows Here

I’ve decided to give a new visual theme a try. I know you all care greatly about this site and even more about how it looks, so please give me suggestions if you think you’ve got a better idea.

Anyway, this blog isn’t about making websites pretty. It’s about microeconomics, right? And it’s also about sharing what you’ve learned with the rest of us, right? And a big step in that process is sharing what you’ve learned with the rest of us. (No, that’s not a question.)

Publishing your slideshow is not tough. Just send one of them e-mail things over to me at studyforecon@gmail.com and attach the presentation file to your message. I’m honestly too cool for some people when I turn my swag on, so I may not know your name. Just in case that is the case, include the first names of everyone involved and the topic you covered in the e-mail’s subject line. I’ll take care of the uploading part, then I’ll email you to let you know that your presentation is online.

Again, send your presentations to studyforecon@gmail.com Get it? Got it? Good.